We’re back – January 11, 2016!

Join the Rowers team at the Central on Monday, January 11th for our first reading of the new year!

Remember we are an early evening event. Doors open at the Central at 5:30 pm. Readings begin at 6:30pm sharp, evening ends at 8:15pm.

We gratefully acknowledge financial assistance from The Canada Council for the Arts, The Ontario Arts Council, The Toronto Arts Council, The Writers’ Union of Canada, The League of Canadian Poets.

Here’s our great first 2016 lineup:

claraClara Blackwood is a poet, visual artist and tarot reader. Her first poetry collection, Subway Medusa (2007), was the inaugural book in Guernica Editions’ First Poets Series, which features first books by poets thirty-five and under. She is also the author of Forecast and Arcana. Her poetry has appeared in both Canadian and International journals. She lives in Toronto.

soniaSonia Di Placido claims existence as poet, playwright, writer, artist and actor/director.

She has published 2 chapbooks: Vulva Magic and Forest Primitive, and her work has appeared in a number of journals and anthologies, including Walk Myself Home and Poet to Poet. Guernica Editions publisher her collection Exaltation in Cadmium Red in 2012, and a new collection is forthcoming in 2018.

ronRon Schafrick was born and grew up in Welland, Ontario, and studied and history at Carleton and Concordia before travelling to Korea where he taught English for nine years. Since returning to Canada his stories have appeared in a number of journals, both in Canada and abroad. His first collection of stories, Interpreters (Oberon Press, 2014) was generously supported by the Ontario Arts Council, the Toronto Arts Council, and the Canada Council for the Arts. His story, “Lovely Company,” is included in Best Gay Stories 2015

RichardSRichard Scarsbrook is the author of seven books, including the 2014 novel The Indifference League. Richard’s forthcoming novel Rockets versus Gravity will be published in 2016, and his new poetry collection Apocalypse One Hundred will be released in 2017. Richard won the 2011 White Pine Award for The Monkeyface Chronicles, and his books have been finalists for the Canadian Library Association Book of the Year Award, the Stellar Book Award and the ReLit Award. His stories and poems have been widely published and have won many prizes.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s